9th Call for the 2020 European Young Researchers’ Award is now open

The European Young Researchers’ Award (EYRA), granted by EuroScience aims to inspire early stage researchers in all research areas to incorporate a European dimension and perspective into their research. Two awards are granted every two years to: a) a PhD candidate and b) a postdoctoral fellow.

The prize-giving ceremony for the two awards is held at the biennial EuroScience flagship event, EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF).

The Award consists of a Certificate, waiving the participation fee to ESOF, a grant to cover travel and accommodation for the stay in the ESOF city and a two years’ free EuroScience membership.

The research must have a clear European dimension, either because it is embedded in a collaboration of researchers in different European countries or it is a research project in one European country that addresses a research topic of European added value. The research should be of demonstrably excellent quality, serve as an inspiration to others and reach out to wider audiences.

The 2020 call is open to early career researchers, who fulfil the following criteria:

  • For the PhD Candidate award: Applicants should have enrolled for a PhD degree at the time of the application deadline or should have successfully defended their thesis after January 1st, 2019.
  • For the Postdoctoral fellow award: Applicants should have successfully defended their thesis after January 1st, 2014 and should have enrolled in a postdoctoral programme at the time of the application deadline.
  • Candidates should work in a European country (cf. Council of Europe’s membership rules).
  • European and Non- European nationals are eligible to apply.
  • Post Docs paid by European funds but currently on a Post Doc mission abroad as part of the funding institution’s requirements (no longer than 2 years and concluding their Post Doc in Europe) are also eligible to apply for the EYRA call 2019.

The deadline for the 2020 call for both awards is Wednesday August 31, 2019 at 12:00 CEST.

Learn more on the Euroscience website

Go back