ESOF 2018 Supporting institutions

European Commission

The European Commission is head-quartered in Brussels, Belgium, and works closely with the 28 EU Member States and European Parliament to define, develop and implement laws and legislation. The activities of the European Commission have the ability to affect millions of EU citizens’ lives and so all new propositions are considered carefully before being put into law. The European Commission is led by 28 commissioners and one president, selected from each of the 28 EU Member States, together they decide the objectives and priorities for actions of the EU and work towards delivering them. Alongside their work within the Union, they also represent the Member States outside of Europe.

Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation

The Ministry of Higher Education, Research, and Innovation is responsible for preparing and implementing the government’s policies in the higher education’s departments of research, technology, and space. Research is conducted in higher education establishments, public research institutes, and private enterprises; the sector employs 575 800 workers, half of which are researchers. To take on the most important scientific, technological, environmental and societal challenges, it carries out a national strategy that develops a culture of scientific, technological and industrial entrepreneurship in the higher education department to encourage innovation. In a context of permanent global competition, French researchers and educators must also keep an open-minded approach and are encouraged to cooperate with European and international partners. 

Région Occitanie

The Occitanie Region is the second largest region of metropolitan France and encompasses of 13 departments in the South of France. Sustainable development helps shape the policy it creates for its territories. On an environmental stand, the region ambitions to become Europe’s leading region in clean energy and hopes to develop its transportation to provide more alternatives to cars. Socially, it seeks to strengthen solidarities by favoring easier access to health, housing, culture, regional languages and sports and creates conditions for students to receive an education suitable for their location and their future developments. Its economic development favors sustainable employment, innovation and internationalization of its businesses and supports the world’s growing sectors, notably digital technology and renewable energy.

Toulouse Métropole

Toulouse Métropole is a public institution of intercommunal cooperation that unites 37 communes of the Toulouse area around a common territorial development project. It was made up of 13 communes after its creation in 1992 and has continued to grow since then. With a current budget of 1.8 billion euros, it plays an important role for its 760,000 habitants by taking action in a wide variety of spheres including urban projects, economic development, transportation, the environment and water management.

A few of its major upcoming projects include the developments of Toulouse Aerospace, which will become a European neighborhood known for technological innovation, of the “Big Park” urban development of the Garonne’s bank in seven communes and of Toulouse EuroSudOuest which will expand the city’s train station to a larger transportation center and develop its neighborhood’s economy.

Agence d'attractivité Toulouse T

One sole development agency for showcasing Toulouse
The merger of Invest in Toulouse, Toulouse Convention Bureau and the Toulouse Métropole Tourist Office brought all the bodies responsible for the promotion of the area to the general public under one umbrella.

The mission of the Toulouse Métropole business, meetings & tourism development agency is to conceive and direct the marketing activity for the Toulouse area in order to bolster its national and international notoriety, seek out wealth and job creators and to improve the existing conditions for welcoming them.

Université Fédérale Toulouse Midi-Pyrénées
Located at the heart of the Science neighbourhood in Toulouse, the Université Fédérale Toulouse Midi-Pyrénées (UFTMP) represents 23 higher education institutions, 1 University Hospital and 7 research institutions.

Always aiming at combining democracy and excellence, this collaboration fosters the creation of innovative development policies, enables the spread of scientific culture and a share of knowledge under a common objective: « Sharing Science, towards new horizons ».

L’UFTMP provides with services in 5 education areas:
Arts, Literature and Languages — Humanities and social studies — Law, Economy, Management — Science, Technology, Health — Sport Science & Technics
Being the entry point for its external partners, public communities and businesses — essential supports for a common site policy— the UFTMP works daily with its members, associates and partners in mutualizing its actions for the benefit of all its publics in France and abroad.

The UFTMP is the local project lead of ESOF 2018 Toulouse